Skip to content
A closer look at beauty.
DupeVerdict
← All hair tools comparisons

Hair tools · reviewed

Dyson Airwrap i.d. Multi-styler and Dryer
vs Shark FlexStyle 5-in-1 Air Styler & Hair Dryer

The buying question

How do the documented tool type, power, motor speed, heat settings and attachments compare?

Important differences

Same on 1 of 5 features checked · Not disclosed: motor speed

Both are air multi-stylers, but Shark lists more power (1,600 W vs 1,300 W), a different heat range and 4 attachments to Dyson's 6, at $349.99 against $649.99.

Equivalent performance is not established.

How we reached this verdict ↗

Original

Illustration — not a product photo

Dyson

Dyson Airwrap i.d. Multi-styler and Dryer, Straight+Wavy

$649.99US price

$649.99 / each

Checked

Alternative

Illustration — not a product photo

Shark

Shark FlexStyle 5-in-1 Air Styler & Hair Dryer (HD430), Stone

$349.99US price

$349.99 / each

Checked

Same, partial, different, unknown.

“Same” means a recorded feature matches, not equivalent performance.

Tool type

Same
Original
Multi-styler and dryer
Brand-stated
Alternative
Multi-styler and dryer
Brand-stated

Both dry and style with interchangeable air attachments.

Sources for Tool type
Original
Ulta product page (Dyson)
Checked
Alternative
Shark product page
Checked

Power (W)

Different
Original
1,300 W
Brand-stated
Alternative
1,600 W
Brand-stated

Dyson lists 1,300 W; Shark lists 1,600 W. Higher wattage isn't a judgment of better or worse.

Sources for Power (W)
Original
Dyson product page
Checked
Alternative
Shark product page
Checked

Motor speed (rpm)

Unknown
Original
110,000 rpm
Brand-stated
Alternative
Not disclosed
Not disclosed

Dyson states up to 110,000 rpm; Shark doesn't state a motor speed.

Sources for Motor speed (rpm)
Original
Ulta product page (Dyson)
Checked
Alternative
Source not provided
Check date not provided

Heat settings

Different
Original
3 settings; maximum: Not disclosed
Brand-stated
Alternative
4 settings; maximum: Not disclosed
Seller-stated

Dyson lists 3 heat settings plus a cold shot; Kohl's lists 4 heat settings for the Shark. Neither states a maximum temperature.

Sources for Heat settings
Original
Dyson product page
Checked
Alternative
Kohl's product page (Shark)
Checked
Shark's own page doesn't state the number of heat settings.

Included attachments

Different
Original
  • Conical barrel
  • 2-in-1 Dryer + Flyaway smoother
  • Large round volumizing brush
  • Soft smoothing brush
  • 1.6" long barrel
  • Fast dryer
Brand-stated
Alternative
  • Auto-wrap curlers (2 × 1.25")
  • Oval brush
  • Paddle brush
  • Styling concentrator
Brand-stated

Dyson's bundle has 6 attachments, including a conical barrel and a 1.6" barrel; Shark's has 4, including two 1.25" auto-wrap curlers.

Sources for Included attachments
Original
Ulta product page (Dyson)
Checked
Dyson's own page for a different colour lists a slightly different set.
Alternative
Shark product page
Checked

What we couldn’t check

Retailer options

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. It never changes a verdict.

Shipping and tax excluded. Confirm totals at the retailer.

Lowest unit price first per version; ties alphabetical, missing prices last. Commissions never affect this order.

Original · Dyson Airwrap i.d. Multi-styler and Dryer, Straight+Wavy

Alternative · Shark FlexStyle 5-in-1 Air Styler & Hair Dryer (HD430), Stone

Stores and prices shown are for the US.

Scope & corrections

Scope version 1 · Tool type; Power (W); Motor speed (rpm); Heat settings; Included attachments

This comparison uses its category’s standard scope. No scope changes are recorded.

No corrections have been recorded.

About corrections ↗

Don't see your product? Tell us what to compare next.

Up to 200 characters.

We'll use this email only to let you know when the comparison is live. This does not sign you up for our newsletter. Privacy