Skip to content
A closer look at beauty.
DupeVerdict
← All fragrance comparisons

Fragrance · reviewed

Dior Sauvage Elixir
vs ALT. Fragrances Farouche Elixir

An “inspired by” claim does not establish matching scent or wear. Compare the documented concentration and claimed notes below.

The buying question

How do the published concentration designation and claimed notes compare?

Important differences

Scent and longevity not compared.

Same on 0 of 2 features checked · Not disclosed: concentration

Both list grapefruit, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, lavender, licorice, amber and patchouli, but ALT adds sandalwood and leaves out vetiver, and neither gives an Eau de Toilette, Eau de Parfum or parfum label.

Equivalent performance is not established.

How we reached this verdict ↗

Original

Illustration — not a product photo

Dior

Dior Sauvage Elixir — 2.0 fl oz

$199.00US price

$336.45 / 100 mL

Checked

Alternative

Illustration — not a product photo

ALT. Fragrances

ALT. Fragrances Farouche Elixir — 60 mL

$49.00US price

$81.67 / 100 mL

Checked

Same, partial, different, unknown.

“Same” means a recorded feature matches, not equivalent performance.

Concentration designation

Unknown
Original
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Alternative
Not disclosed
Not disclosed

Dior calls Sauvage Elixir an "extraordinarily concentrated fragrance" and an elixir, not an Eau de Toilette, Eau de Parfum or parfum. ALT's product page gives no Eau de Toilette, Eau de Parfum or parfum label for this scent; its FAQ only says ALT fragrances in general are "pure perfumes".

Sources for Concentration designation
Original
Source not provided
Check date not provided
Alternative
Source not provided
Check date not provided

Claimed fragrance notes

Different
Original
  • Grapefruit
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Cardamom
  • Lavender
  • Ambery Accord
  • Licorice
  • Vetiver
  • Patchouli
Brand-stated
Alternative
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg
  • Grapefruit
  • Cardamom
  • Lavender
  • Licorice
  • Amber
  • Patchouli
  • Sandalwood
Brand-stated

Dior describes the notes in prose under "Fragrance Notes": grapefruit; cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom; lavender essence; an ambery accord, licorice, vetiver and patchouli, listed here in that order. Both name grapefruit, cinnamon, nutmeg, cardamom, lavender, licorice, amber and patchouli. ALT adds sandalwood and doesn't list vetiver. ALT says Farouche Elixir is "Inspired by Sauvage Elixir".

Sources for Claimed fragrance notes
Original
Dior "Fragrance Notes" tab
Checked
Alternative
ALT note pyramid image on the product page
Checked

Claimed longevity

Unknown
Original
"...designed to last well beyond 10 hours."
Brand-stated
Alternative
Not disclosed
Not disclosed

Dior's FAQ says it is designed to last well beyond 10 hours; ALT makes no product-specific claim to compare.

Sources for Claimed longevity
Original
Dior US product page FAQ
Checked
Alternative
Source not provided
Check date not provided

Outside this verdict’s scope; included for context.

What we couldn’t check

Retailer options

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. It never changes a verdict.

Shipping and tax excluded. Confirm totals at the retailer.

Lowest unit price first per version; ties alphabetical, missing prices last. Commissions never affect this order.

Original · Dior Sauvage Elixir — 2.0 fl oz

Alternative · ALT. Fragrances Farouche Elixir — 60 mL

Stores and prices shown are for the US.

Scope & corrections

Scope version 1 · Concentration designation; Claimed fragrance notes

This comparison uses its category’s standard scope. No scope changes are recorded.

No corrections have been recorded.

About corrections ↗

Don't see your product? Tell us what to compare next.

Up to 200 characters.

We'll use this email only to let you know when the comparison is live. This does not sign you up for our newsletter. Privacy