Skip to content
A closer look at beauty.
DupeVerdict
← All makeup comparisons

Makeup · reviewed

Clinique Almost Lipstick
vs CoverGirl Clean Fresh Tinted Lip Balm

The buying question

How do the documented product type, finish, SPF and fragrance listing compare?

Important differences

Same on 3 of 4 features checked

Clinique sells Almost Lipstick as a sheer lipstick and CoverGirl sells a tinted lip balm; both list a shine finish, no SPF and no fragrance. CoverGirl names a hyaluronic complex and pomegranate oils, and costs $7.99 for 0.14 oz against Clinique's $25 for 0.06 oz.

Equivalent performance is not established.

How we reached this verdict ↗

Original

Illustration — not a product photo

Clinique

Clinique Almost Lipstick, Black Honey — 0.06 oz

$25.00US price

$1,469.75 / 100 g

Checked

Alternative

Illustration — not a product photo

CoverGirl

CoverGirl Clean Fresh Tinted Lip Balm, 600 Bliss You Berry — 0.14 oz

$7.99US price

$201.31 / 100 g

Checked

Same, partial, different, unknown.

“Same” means a recorded feature matches, not equivalent performance.

Product type

Different
Original
Sheer lipstick
Brand-stated
Alternative
Tinted lip balm
Brand-stated

Clinique sells Almost Lipstick as an "emollient-rich sheer lipstick", while saying its texture is "more like a tinted lip balm"; CoverGirl sells "a creamy, tinted lip balm".

Sources for Product type
Original
Clinique US product page
Checked
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked

Stated finish

Same
Original
Shine
Brand-stated
Alternative
Shine
Brand-stated

Clinique lists the finish as "Shine" and describes "a sleek, soft-shine finish"; CoverGirl describes a "subtle, natural-looking shine" (its product data labels the finish "Glossy").

Sources for Stated finish
Original
Clinique US product page
Checked
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked

SPF

Same
Original
No SPF
Brand-stated
Alternative
No SPF
Brand-stated

Neither lists SPF. CoverGirl sells a separate SPF 15 version, which isn't compared here.

Sources for SPF
Original
Clinique US product page
Checked
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked

Fragrance listed

Same
Original
No
Verified
Alternative
No
Verified

Neither ingredient list includes fragrance or flavor; Clinique also says it is 100% fragrance free.

Sources for Fragrance listed
Original
Clinique US product page
Checked
Clinique says "100% fragrance free". Read the full ingredient list on Clinique's US product page: no Fragrance, Parfum, Aroma or Flavor is listed.
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked
Read the full ingredient list for shade 600 Bliss You Berry on CoverGirl's US product page (it matches Ulta's): no Fragrance, Parfum, Aroma or Flavor is listed.

Listed key ingredients and disclosed percentages

Unknown
Original
  • Hyaluronic complex: Absent from full ingredient list (0%)
  • Pomegranate oil blend: Absent from full ingredient list (0%)
Verified
Alternative
  • Hyaluronic complex: percentage undisclosed
  • Pomegranate oil blend: percentage undisclosed
Brand-stated

CoverGirl names a hyaluronic complex and a blend of pomegranate oils without amounts; Clinique names no hero ingredients and neither appears in its list.

Sources for Listed key ingredients and disclosed percentages
Original
Clinique US product page
Checked
Clinique names no hero ingredients (it says "95% conditioning ingredients"). Read the full ingredient list on Clinique's US product page: no hyaluronic acid or sodium hyaluronate and no pomegranate (Punica granatum) ingredient is listed (absent).
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked

Outside this verdict’s scope; included for context.

US shade count

Different
Original
3
Brand-stated
Alternative
4
Brand-stated

3 shades (Black Honey, Pink Honey, Nude Honey) versus 4.

Sources for US shade count
Original
Clinique US product page
Checked
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked

Outside this verdict’s scope; included for context.

Claimed wear

Unknown
Original
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Alternative
Up to 24HR hydration
Brand-stated

Clinique makes no wear or hydration claim; CoverGirl's claim is about hydration and is its own.

Sources for Claimed wear
Original
Source not provided
Check date not provided
Alternative
CoverGirl US product page
Checked

Outside this verdict’s scope; included for context.

What we couldn’t check

Retailer options

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. It never changes a verdict.

Shipping and tax excluded. Confirm totals at the retailer.

Lowest unit price first per version; ties alphabetical, missing prices last. Commissions never affect this order.

Original · Clinique Almost Lipstick, Black Honey — 0.06 oz

Alternative · CoverGirl Clean Fresh Tinted Lip Balm, 600 Bliss You Berry — 0.14 oz

Stores and prices shown are for the US.

Scope & corrections

Scope version 1 · Product type; Stated finish; SPF; Fragrance listed

This comparison uses its category’s standard scope. No scope changes are recorded.

No corrections have been recorded.

About corrections ↗

Don't see your product? Tell us what to compare next.

Up to 200 characters.

We'll use this email only to let you know when the comparison is live. This does not sign you up for our newsletter. Privacy